Call for Papers: BIGSSS Best Paper Awards 2024 › view all


Submit your paper now until December 31st, 2023!

The BIGSSS Best Paper Award goes into its 12th round and once again we look forward to receiving your submissions.

The BIGSSS Best Paper Award honors the author(s) of an outstanding academic paper that combines cutting-edge research, relevance, and originality. All current regular, affiliated, and adjunct doctoral fellows at BIGSSS, as well as recent alumni (those who defend/ed in 2023) are eligible to apply. Both single-authored and co-authored papers will be accepted. For co-authored papers, co-authorship with doctoral or postdoctoral fellows, and faculty members from BIGSSS or other institutions is allowed, if the submitting BIGSSS doctoral fellow is the first author. The award is endowed with 500 EUR.  

Details (eligibility, composition of the selection committee, etc.) are outlined in the Call for Papers. The winner(s) will be announced at our next BIGSSS Meeting of Members in spring 2023.

For questions, please contact the Director of Studies Regina Arant.


Last years' winners were:


Single authored:

Michael Martin Richter with his paper “The Diversity of Actors in Reform Backsliding and Its Containment in the Ukrainian Hybrid Regime".


Jelisaveta Belić (together with Mandy Boehnke and Klaus Boehnke) with their paper “Perceived Value Similarity With Important Others: Well-Being Implications for Emerging Adults”. (Published in Frontiers in Psychology. Vol. 13, 2022)



Single authored:

Audris Umel with her dissertation chapter "Filipino migrants in Germany and their (ironic) space-time constructions of their home and host societies in Facebook"


Eloisa Harris (together with Friederike Römer) with the paper "Contextual Welfare Chauvinism: Left-Wing Governments and Immigrant Welfare Rights in Western Europe" (published in European Journal of Political Research).



Single authored:

Janosch Kullenberg with his paper "Overlapping Agendas and Peacekeepers' Ability to Protect" (published in International Peacekeeping) 


Vladimir Ponizovskiy (together with Murat Ardag, Lusine Grigoryan, Ryan Boyd, Henrik Dobewall and Peter Holtz) with the paper "Development and Validation of the Personal Values Dictionary: A Theory-Driven Tool for Investigating References to Basic Human Values in Text" (published in European Journal of Personality).



(co-authored was not awarded):

Ivan Bakalov in the single-authored category with his paper “Setting Soft Power in Motion” (published in European Journal of International Relations).

Lusine Grigoryan with a single-authored paper  “Perceived Similarity in Multiple Categorisation” (published in Applied Psychology).



Single authhored

John Berten with his paper "Failed Indicatorisation: Defining, Comparing and Quantifying Social Policy in the ILO’s International Survey of Social Services of the Interwar Period" (published in Historical Social Research.


Lara Minkus (together with Emanuel Deutschmann and Jan Delhey) with the paper "A Trump Effect on the EU’s Popularity? The U.S. Presidential Election as a Natural Experiment" (published in Perspectives on Politics).



Single authored:

Jean-Yves Gerlitz in the category Single-Authored Paper with his paper "Rising In-work Poverty in Times of Activation: Changes in the Distributive Performance of  Institutions over Three Decades, Germany 1984-2013" (published in Social Indicators Research).


Lara Minkus (together with Anne Busch-Heizmann) with the paper "Gender Wage Inequalities Between Historical Heritage and Structural Adjustments: A German-German Comparison Over Time" (published  in Social Politics).



Andreas Katsikidis with his paper "Diversity or Ranking? Revisiting the Impact of Income Inequality on Generalized Trust".



Emanuel Deutschmann with his paper "The Spatial Structure of Transnational Human Activity" (published in Social Science Research).